Saturday Snapshot – Old Church

Saturday Snapshot is hosted over at At Home with Books and is just people sharing a photo they have taken and telling a little about it.  Today I have a picture of this old abandoned church that I use to pass on my way to school.  It is run down, but I still think it is beautiful.  I especially love the field that leads up to it.  After passing it about a hundred times, one day I finally stopped and snapped a picture of it.  I was afraid if I did not, they might tear it down and I would lose my chance to capture its beauty on film.

Church

So what do you think? Anyone else ever see something all the time that you finally stop to take a picture of? Or have a Saturday Snapshot of something else to share?

13 responses to “Saturday Snapshot – Old Church

  1. That’s a beautiful shot. Thank you for sharing it.

  2. Beautiful photo – it’s perfect in black and white.

  3. That is awesome. And BermudaOnion is right–it’s perfect in black and white. The cornfield surrounding it really makes the church stand out.

    Here’s my Snapshot.

  4. What a great photo!

    There are some buildings from my childhood that I would love to take photos of, but I haven’t been back to the country road where my old house is at since my parents moved elsewhere several years ago.

  5. Hmm, that is a great idea! We so often take familiar things for granted. Must think about what I ought to photograph while I have the chance…

    • Thanks. I actually lost the ability to take a picture of something I wanted because it was gone by the time I got around to getting the picture. So I am glad I did get this one. 🙂

  6. Great photo. It’s important to appreciate the things we see every day.

  7. … and ye shall reap what ye sows! What a beautiful photo! Such great composotion! I love that you chose black and white format too!

Leave a comment