Interview with Rosalie Lario

Please welcome Rosalie Lario to my blog today!  Rosalie is the author of the fantastic Demons of the Infernum series.  I read and loved the first book, Blood of the Demon (review here) which is available now.  So if you have not read it, go out and get your copy so you can discover this world for yourself!  Okay, onto the interview.

A Bookworm’s Haven (ABH): Can you start out by telling us a little bit about Blood of the Demon for those who might not have read it yet?

Rosalie Lario (RL): Sure! The hero of my story is Keegan. He lives to exact revenge on the evil demon who sired and abused him. When his father devises a plan to bring on the apocalypse, he and his three half-brothers, interdimensional bounty hunters for the Elden Council, are charged with capturing and delivering their father for punishment.

Art gallery owner Brynn Meyers has no idea that her ability to read memories embedded in objects and drain people of their life force means she has demon ancestry. Unfortunately for Brynn, she’s also the key to raising an ancient zombie army, which puts her on every demon’s Most Wanted List.

And no one wants her more than Keegan’s father.

Keegan must protect Brynn from his father by any means necessary, but he’ll have to learn to harness the other half of his genetics—the far deadlier, uncontrollable half—when he starts to fall for the one woman standing between him and the vengeance he so desperately seeks. The one woman he’ll never be able to resist.

ABH: Demons are prevalent in the world of paranormal romance right now, but your demon mythology has a little bit of different spin since they are from a different dimension, not hell, and the brothers in your world are only half demons.  How did you form the mythology for this world?

RL: I knew I wanted to build a broad world, where mythical creatures really exist but they are actually species from different dimensions. I wrote an earlier novel (of which we’ll speak no further; it was crap), and that’s where my world was formed, bit by bit.

ABH: Do you have a favorite scene from Blood of the Demon?

RL: The climax scene in the Valley of the Kings! To have a battle going on amidst all the tombs: it was pretty awesome to write. Of all the books I’ve written, that’s my all-time favorite scene.

ABH: The four brothers in this book are hilarious and have very distinct personalities. We have only seen Keegan’s book so far but still get little glimpses into the lives of the other three, do you have a favorite brother?

RL: I must say I’m pretty partial to Taeg’s smart-assedness. He reminds me of Dean Winchester from Supernatural, and that ain’t bad at all. The guy really makes me laugh.

ABH: If you could describe Keegan and Brynn in just three words (each), what would they be?

RL: Keegan: HOT. Loyal. HOT. Oh, I said already? Okay, I’ll add: Determined.

Brynn: Strong. Smart. Brave.

ABH: On your website you say you were a lawyer for five years before starting to write.  That is quite a career change, are you happy that you made the decision to switch to writing?

RL: Yes! Yes! Hell, yes! Does that answer the question? 🙂

ABH: You also talk about searching for creatures that go bump in the night on your website.  If you could be one of those creatures which one would you choose to be and why?

RL: Ooh, great question! I think I’d have to go with a shifter, because they’re strong and they can change shape at will. A flying shifter would be nice, like an eagle or an owl shifter. But with my luck, I’d be stuck being something stupid like an insect shifter, LOL.

ABH: What types of books do you like to read in your free time?  Are there any authors/series that you must have when they come out?

RL: It’s probably no surprise that my favorite genre is paranormal romance / urban fantasy. Jeaniene Frost, Larissa Ione, and Karen Marie Moning are on my ‘Must Buy’ list!

ABH: Are you a plotter or a panster? Do you plot your stories ahead of writing? Or do you write and see what happens? (Writing “by the seat of your pants”.)

RL: Both! I’ve found that it actually varies by the story. I do take several weeks before writing to sit down and get to know my characters. I work out a general plot, then try to get it tighter and tighter. Sometimes that will happen, and sometimes it won’t. I work with what comes to me.

ABH: Can you share what you are working on right now?

RL: I’d love to. I recently finished Mark of the Sylph, Book Two of the Demons of Infernum series (Taeg’s story), and I’m now writing Touch of the Angel, Book Three. This one is Ronin’s story and he’s got a lot of obstacles in the path to his HEA.

ABH: Do you have anything you would like to add?

RL: If you like action-packed paranormal romance in the vein of The Mummy, then give Blood of the Demon a try. It’s a wild ride. 🙂

ABH: Thank you very much for taking the time to be here today Rosalie!  I loved reading Blood of the Demon and can’t wait to read the next book!

RL: Thank you, Meaghan! I’m so glad you enjoyed the story!

If you want to learn more about Rosalie you can check out her website here.  You can also learn more about her books by going to Entangled Publishing website here.  And make sure you check out Rosalie’s book Blood of the Demon!

9 responses to “Interview with Rosalie Lario

  1. I wanted to thank you for again for the fun interview. It was a blast. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Interview at A Bookworm’s Haven « Rosalie Lario

  3. Great interview ladies!!! 🙂

    And I LOVE the Mummy movies so I’m sure this will be a fun read!

    Lisa 🙂

  4. Hi Rosalie,

    BLOOD OF THE DEMON sounds like an incredible read. I’m a big fan of series that involve family members–each of them getting thier story told in a separate book. Congratulations!

  5. Great interview, Rosalie. Love the dimensional twist to your demons.

  6. Great interview. I’m so looking forward to reading this series. Couldn’t have a better description of Keegan ;). I tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/Jovial_1/status/100673707541925888

    • Thanks for stopping by, I am so glad you enjoyed the interview! I also appreciate you spreading the word and I completely agree with you about Keegan. 😉

  7. Lisa – Thank you! I’m a huge fan of The Mummy too. Obviously, LOL.
    Tracy – I love series like that too! You get so attached to the whole family.
    Melanie – Thanks! It was a fun world to build. 🙂

    Jovial Vampyre – Thanks. Yeah, I’m sorta fond of that character, if you didn’t notice. 😉

Leave a comment